Faculty/Staff Profiles

CAS | CAUSES | SBPA | SEAS | CC | Administrative Services

College of Arts & Sciences (CAS)

Valbona Bejieri, Ph.D. , Associate Professor                                                                     vbejieri@udc.edu
Prediction Inference, Bayesian Methods, Experimental Design, Survey Methodology, Applications in the field of Biostatistics, Environmental and Social Studies
Kimberly Bell, Ph.D., Assistant Professor                                                          
kimberlyt.bell@udc.edu                   
Health Behaviors, Cardiac Activity, Cognition and Neural Correlates
Angela Bullock, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
angela.bullock@udc.edu
Technology in Social Work Education and Practice, Informal Caregiving, Co-ed Mental Health
Wanda M. Colston, Ph.D., Professor
wcolston@udc.edu
Language and Learning, Multicultural Communication
Abdi Darai, Ph.D., Associate Professor
adarai@udc.edu
Chaos and Fractais, Differential Equations
Angelyn Spaulding Flowers, J.D., Ph.D., Professor 
aflowers@udc.edu
Development and utilization of computer models and computer-based simulations to examine social destabilization phenomenon such as crime or terrorism within a complex systems framework.
Pamela Hampton-Garland, Ph.D., Assistant Professor                         pamela.hamptongarlan@udc.edu
Gifted and Talented Education Advocacy, College and Career Readiness
Sylvia I. B. Hill, Ph.D., Professor
shill@udc.edu
Use of research and community organizing techniques to mobilize communities to work on public safety. In particular, developing a geo-spatial neighborhood intervention model to reduce homicide, vehicular theft, and other indices of decaying neighborhoods.
Brandy Huderson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
brandy.huderson@udc.edu
Mammary gland breast cancer, Steroid Receptor biology
Amanda Huron, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
amanda.huron@udc.edu
Urban Geography, Cooperative Housing, Urban Commons, GIS, DC History
Arleen King-Berry, JD, Professor
akberry@udc.edu
Special Education
Judith Korey, M.A., Music Program Coordinator/Jazz Archives Curator                            jkorey@udc.edu
Preservation and Access, Presenting Music
Chereen Leid, B.S., Project Coordinator MSI-CBO                                                      chereen.leid@udc.edu
HIV/AIDS, Substance Abuse, Domestic Violence, Alcohol Abuse, Campus Assaults
Maxine LeGail, M.S., Associate Professor
mlagall@udc.edu
Communications Studies, Story Telling/Folk, African American English
Pamela Mertens, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
pamela.mertens@udc.edu
Post Traumatic Stress
Carl Moore, Ph.D.,  Associate Professor
carl.moore@udc.edu
Teaching and Learning in Higher Education, Universal Design for Learning Inclusion, Educational Technology
Patricia M. Myers, Ed. D., Professor
pmmyers@udc.edu
Recruiting Effective Teachers: Identifying Qualities that Make a Difference. This research examines pre- and post-assessment data, self-identified personal attributes, and mentor assessments of participants in the District of Columbia Teacher Institute Program (DC-TIP), a Transition to Teaching grant-funded program.
Heidi Oliver-O’Gilvie, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
holiver-ogilvie@udc.edu
Qualitative research on the work, lives and experiences of urban learners guided by highly-effective practitioners; work anchored in hip-hop, culturally relevant pedagogy and critical theory; collaborations in the field to craft manuscripts that include practical strategies for in-service practitioners.
Hailemichael Seyoum, Ph.D., Professor
hseyoum@udc.edu
Research in magnetism and magnetic materials, superconductivity, analyze and model magnetic hysteresis data, and atomic and molecular spectroscopy.
Wynn Yarbrough, Ph.D., Chair, Division Arts and Humanities/Associate Professorwyarbrough@udc.edu
Children’s Literature, Children’s Poetry, Gender, Education Literacy, Modern American Poetry, British/Commonwealth Poetry

College of Agriculture, Urban Sustainability& Environmental Sciences (CAUSES)

Genell Anderson, AIA, Department of Urban Architecture and Community Planning
ganderson@udc.edu
The design and architecture of buildings and public facilities and DC Code for building compliance.
Elmira Asongwed, MS, RN, CNE, Associate Professor, Bachelor of Science in Nursing
easongwe@udc.edu
Secondary prevention with anklebrachial index measurements to identify peripheral artery disease and evidence-based education interventions for adult learners
Yacov Assa, Lab Technician, Environmental Quality Testing Lab, Water Resources Research Institute
Yacov.assa@udc.edu
Soil Biogeochemistry, Soil Fertility Management, Climate Change, Water Quality, and Soil Conservation
Mchezaji “Che” Axum, Director of the Center for Urban Agriculture and Gardening Education
mchezaji.axum@udc.edu
Soil Nutrition, High Intensity Urban Farming, Agroecology
Sapna Batheja, Project Specialist, Nutrition and Health, Center for Nutrition, Diet and Health
sapna.batheja@udc.edu
Public Health Nutrition, Community Nutrition
Ralph Belton, RA, CSI, NOMA, ASEE, Associate Professor, Department of Urban Architecture and Community Planning
rbelton@udc.edu
Preservation Rehabilitation
Pier Broadnax, Ph.D., Director, Bachelor of Science in Nursing (RN to BSN)
pbroadnax@udc.edu
Leadership Development, Breast Cancer in Minority Women, Childhood Obesity
Kathy Dixon, AIA, NOMA, LEED AP BD+C Associate, Associate Professor, Department of Urban Architecture and Community Planning
kdixon@udc.edu
Urban Planning, LEED buildings
Lorraine Weller Clarke, Ph.D., Project Specialist In Urban Agriculture, Center for Urban Agriculture and Gardening Education
Lorraine.clarke@udc.edu
Community Gardens and Well Being, Urban Biodiversity, Heavy Metals in Soils, Soil Ecology
Justine Cromer, Project Specialist, Green Business and Social Entrepreneurship, Center for Sustainable Development
Justine.cromer@udc.edu
Integrated Marketing, Strategic Communications, Change Management, and Sustainable Business Development
Tolessa Deksissa, Ph.D., Director, Water Resources Research Institute, Professional Science Master’s in Water Resource Management and the Environmental Quality Testing Lab
tdeksissa@udc.edu
Water quality assessment and modeling; emerging contaminants; GIS based modeling of green infrastructure; trace metal analysis and speciation with ICP-MS ; analysis of pesticide, PCBs and emerging contaminants with GC-MS, analysis of pharmaceutical and personal care products using TOF-MS with DSA; fate and transport of organic contaminants in soil and water; modeling integrated urban wastewater system; adaptive water resources management; and fostering significant learning in science, technology, engineering and mathematics
Prema Ganganna, Ph.D., Chair, Division of Nutrition, Nursing and Health
pganganna@udc.edu
Diabetic Nutrition, improving the dietary habits of the elderly, identifying barriers to good nutrition in the low socioeconomic areas of Washington, D.C.
William Hare, MSc., Associate Dean for Landgrant Programs
whare@udc.edu
Soil Nutrients, Water Resources Management, Ethnic and Specialty Crops
B. Michelle Harris, Associate Professor, Department of Nutrition and Dietetics
bharris@udc.edu
Minority health issues and reducing health disparities
Dr. Elgloria Harrison, the Special Assistant to the Dean
eharrison@udc.edu
Community-based approaches to Asthma Management, Climate Change and its impact on human health, disaster preparedness, and cultural and emotional intelligence
Barbara S. Harvey, Assistant Professor, Department of Nutrition and Dietetics
bharvey@udc.edu
Nutrition
Xiaochu Hu, Ph.D., Project Specialist in Applied Economic Evaluation, Center for Sustainable Development
Xiaochu.hu@udc.edu
Economic Development and Immigration Policy
Anne Marie Jean-Baptiste, MSN, RN, CCRN, CEN, Assistant Professor,  Bachelor of Science Nursing
ajeanbaptiste@udc.edu
Critical Care and Adult Emergency Nursing
Susan Schaefer Kliman, Ph.D., AIA, Chair, Division of Architecture and Urban Sustainability
Susan.kliman@udc.edu
Urban heat island effect, and mitigation through appropriate building design, High performance buildings, Building science, Integration of landscape with the structure to improve energy efficiency, and incorporation of urban agriculture/farming with residential design
Tia Jeffrey, Ph.D., Project Specialist, Center for Nutrition, Diet and Health
Tia.jeffrey@udc.edu
Urban Health Disparities, positive youth development via nutrition education and fitness, and Senior Wellness
Dwane Jones, Ph.D., Director, Center for Sustainable Development
Dwane.jones@udc.edu
Urban Sustainability, Urban Stormwater Management, Environmental Policy, Urban Design, Public Health
Ashley Milton, Ph.D., Project Specialist, Environmental & Public Health in the Center for Sustainable Development
Ashley.milton@udc.edu
The valuation, benefit transfer, the ecology of deforestation and the links to human health, and conservation of biodiversity
Lillie Monroe-Lord, Director, Center for Nutrition, Diet and Health
lmonroelord@udc.edu
Inner City Childhood Obesity Prevention, Food Security, Health Literacy and Geriatrics
Sabine O’Hara, Ph.D., Dean and Director of Landgrant Programs
sabine.ohara@udc.edu
Sustainable Economic Development, Community based approaches to Economic Development, Ecological and Agricultural Economics, stakeholder based assessment, Discourse Based Valuation, Economic Development and its Social/Cultural and Environmental Context.
Clarence Pearson, Jr., Distinguished Professor, Architectural Research Institute
cpearson@udc.edu
The design and management of residential, commercial, civil and institutional structures.
Matthew Richardson, Ph.D.
Matthew.richardson@udc.edu
Understanding plant-insect relationships in human-managed, disturbed, and restored habitats.
John Slack, Ph.D., Director, Department of Health Education
Jslack@udc.edu
Health
Sebhat Tefera, Project Specialist, Environmental Quality Testing Lab, Water Resources Research Institute
stefera@uc.edu
Perchlorate analyses in drinking and ground water contaminants, vegetables, fruits and milk by LC/MS/MS (Liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry), sodium in low sodium food products by ICP/MS (Inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry), and detection of the adulteration of cereal flours with melamine and related triazine byproducts of ammeline, ammelide, and cyanuric acid by HPLC/DAD (High-Performance Liquid Chromatography with Diode-Array Detection)
Harris Trobman, Project Specialist in Green Infrastructure, Center for Sustainable Development
harris.trobman@udc.edu
restoration of urban systems, with a particular interest on diverse and complex systems, and his skills include socially responsive design, community engagement, landscape architecture, urban design, and horticulture
Kamran Zendehdel, Ph.D., Assistant Director, Center for Sustainable Development
Kamran.zendehdel@udc.edu
Urban Sustainability, Environmental Policy, Experimental Design, Community Engagement, Group Decision Making

School of Business and Public Administration (SBPA)

Nikolai V. Ostapenko, Ph.D., Associate Professor
nostapenko@udc.edu
Cross-border business transactions, globalization of entrepreneurship, evolution of international economic integration, and in a variety of aspects of transnational management and global marketing management.
Yolandra Plummer, Ph.D., Director, Counseling & Student Dev.
yolandra.plummer@udc.edu
Human Service, Equal Rights in Higher Education, Working with Special Populations

School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (SEAS)

Abiose O. Adebayo, Ph.D., Professor/Chair
aadebayo@udc.edu
Computational Fluid Dynamics and Computational Structural Dynamics (CFD/CSD) method in the study of forced response and flutter of a turbomachinery row in the time domain.
Pradeep K. Behera, Ph. D., P.E., D.WRE, Associate Professor
pbehera@udc.edu
Urban Stormwater Management, Non-point Source Pollution, Water Resources Engineering, Erosion and Sediment Control, Sustainable Urban Water Systems, Environmental Systems, Spatio-Temporal Informatics.
Paul Cotae, Ph.D., Associate Professor
pcotae@udc.edu
Wireless mobile communication systems including B3G, CDMA/TDMA and 4G communication technologies, performance analysis, systems design, physical layer capability, the design of advanced communication algorithms, and recommendations for standards in B3G digital wireless communication systems.
Dong Hyun Jeong, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
djeong@udc.edu
HCI, Visual Analytics, Visualization, Cloud Computing, Physical Computing
Junwhan Kim, Ph.D., Assistant Professor                                                                   junwhan.kim@udc.edu
Distributed Systems; Software and Hardware Transactional Memory; Fault Tolerance; Wireless Networking; Cross-layer Optimization
Samuel Lakeou, Ph.D., Professor                                                                                         slakeou@udc.edu
Solar Cell Efficiency, Laser Assisted Prototyping, Pulsed Laser Deposition of Thin Films, Data Acquisition System Design, Renewable Energy Power Systems, VLSI Design
Lily R. Liang, Ph.D., Associate Professor                                                                                  lliang@udc.edu
Research interests include but are not limited to: data mining, artificial intelligence, pattern recognition and digital image processing. In the past several years, she has been focusing on developing and applying algorithms in the biomedical field.
LaVonne Manning, M.S., Associate Professor                                                                  lmanning@udc.edu
Educational research involving robotics, including the use of robotics as a way to attract and retain students in computer science and to encourage the pursuit of graduate studies
James C. Shakir, Ph.D., Assistant Professor                                                                 james.shakir@udc.edu
Distributed Application, Cloud Distribution, Network Security
Devdas Shetty, Ph.D., Dean, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
devdas.shetty@udc.edu
Mechatronics Design, Production Engineering and Design, Industrial Engineering and Design, Biomedical Research, Rehabilitation Suspension Systems,
Xueging Song, Ph.D., Assistant Professor 
xsong@udc.edu
Design and synthesis of derivatives of biologically potential organic and organometallic molecules aimed at enhancing their bioavailability and target selectivity; 2. Characterization of their structures using state-of-the-art spectroscopic, photo-physical, and electrochemical methods; Understanding of the relationship between the properties of the molecular components and their bioavailability, and then to use that knowledge to direct our synthetic efforts.
Lara Thompson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
lara.thompson@udc.edu
Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Postural Control, Balance Rehabilitation Devises/Aids, Prostheses Implants, Rehabilitation Robotics
Pawan Tyagi, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
ptyagi@udc.edu
Molecular Spintronics, Solar Cells, Biomedical Sensors, Nanomaterials based devices
Briana L. Wellman, Ph.D., Assistant Professor                                                       briana.wellman@udc.edu
Multi-robots, Educational Robotics, Autonomous Systems
Byunggu Yu, Ph.D., Professor                                                                                                          byu@udc.edu
Novel techniques for managing and accessing continuously changing information in space-time continuum and already proven techniques for managing low- to high-dimensional data presented in many publications in leading scientific forums in Computer Science.
Ahmet Zeytinci, Ph.D. Professor
azeytinci@udc.edu
Numerical Methods in Structural Analysis, Vibrations, Plates and Shells, Foundation Design and Finite Element Analysis in Engineering Problems.
Yoa Yu, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
yoa.yu@udc.edu
Public Transportation Planning
Nian Zhang, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
nzhang@udc.edu
Neural networks, fuzzy logic and their applications in autonomous robot navigation, signal processing, security, energy and power grid, and related fields, and VLSI/FPGA design.

UDC Community College (UDC-CC)

Robyn Ellis, M.A., Director, College Readiness and Community Outreach             robyn.ellis@udc.edu
College Readiness, Community Outreach
Kimberly Ford, MPA., Dean, Workforce Development and Life Long Learning
kford@udc.edu
Workforce Development, Lifelong Learning
Yolanda Harris, M.Ed., Division Director, Business Department
yolanda.harris1@udc.edu
Business, Marketing, Business Education, Fashion
Marilyn Hamilton, M.Ed.  Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs
mhamilton@udc.edu
Effective practices related to training prospective teachers to use technology in the classroom, and the use of electronic portfolios in teacher preparation programs; 1. The effect of a single course, Technology for Teachers, on teacher candidates’ use of technology in the classroom during and after student teaching.
2. What does the electronic portfolio tell us about the teacher candidate’s capacity to impact student learning, and the belief that all students can learn?
Sandra Jowers-Barber, Ph.D., Director, Humanities Division                                         sjowers@udc.edu
Interpreting, documenting and chronicling the history of the African American Deaf Community

Administrative Units

Scott King, M.S., M.S.,
Associate Professor/Program Coordinator
scott.king@udc.edu
Student Development, Servant Leadership, Management Education, Hospitality Industry, Experiential Education, Study Abroad
Harold Obiakor, M.D. Adjunct Professor (Science/Math)
harold.obiakor@udc.edu
The control and eradication malaria parasites, Prevention of placental malaria, Infant Mortality
Beverly Bennett-Roberts, Ph.D. Adjunct Prof., ECLT Program Advisor           bbennettroberts@udc.edu
Early Childhood
Edith R. Westfall, D.Sc. Associate Dean, Workforce Development and Life Long Learning
ewestfall@udc.edu
Workforce Development, Lifelong Learning
Katherine S. Broderick, JD, Dean, David A. Clarke School of Law                               sbroderick@udc.edu
Legal Education, Poverty and Inequality, First Amendment, Pro Bono Legal Services, Legal Education, Poverty and Inequality, First Amendment, Pro Bono Legal Services
Nancy Carlson, Ph.D., Coordinator, Counseling Graduate Program
nancy.carlson@udc.edu
Gifted and Talented Education (advocacy for underrepresented populations), Differentiated Counseling needs in the Schools.
Serena Butler-Johnson, Psy.D., Director, Counseling and Student Development Center       sbutlerjohnson@udc.edu
Women’s Issues, Mental Health, Expressive Therapy, Psycho-Therapy, Suicide Prevention, Body Image, Eating Disorders, Sexual Assault, Domestic Violence, Working with diverse populations, Mind/Body Connections
Ayana Elliott, DPN, Health Services Director                                                              ayana.elloitt@udc.edu
HIV/AIDS, Health Issues
Sislena Ledbetter, Ph.D., Director, Counseling/Student Development                         sledbetter@udc.edu
Leadership, Diversity, HIV/AIDS, Domestic4 Violence, Behavioral Health
Land Grant Research area