Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of the University of the District of Columbia was established by the U.S. Congress as a body of the District of Columbia government in 1974. The board has the authority to independently issue regulations governing the university, own and manage the property of the university, and represent the university in legal proceedings. The board is also responsible for hiring the President of the University System.

Trustees are charged with establishing and ensuring accreditation of each component of the University System, This includes, at minimum, a liberal arts component, a vocational and technical component, and a school of law. The Trustees approve all programs and majors, and set academic policies such as degree requirements and tuition. In addition, Trustees are responsible for setting UDC’s budget in conjunction with the Mayor and City Council.

The University’s and Board’s authorizing legislation is the Post-Secondary Education Reorganization Act of 1974 (D.C. Official Code §§ 38-1201.01 – 38-1204.07 (2001 ed.)).


Christopher Bell, Esq. - BOT Chair
Christopher Bell, Esq.

Read more…
Reginald M. Felton (Vice Chair) - BOT
Reginald M. Felton

(Vice Chair) 
Read more…

The Honorable Charlene Drew Jarvis - BOT
The Honorable Charlene Drew Jarvis

Read more…

Dr. Esther Barazzone (Secretary) - BOT
Dr. Esther Barazzone
Read more…
Jerome Shelton - BOT
Jerome Shelton
Read more…
Jim W. Dyke Jr., Esq. - BOT
Jim W. Dyke Jr.Esq.
Read more…
Dr. Anthony C. Tardd - BOT
Dr. Anthony C. Tardd
Read more…
Dr. Elaine Crider - BOT
Dr. Elaine Crider
Read more…
Joshua S. Wyner - BOT
Joshua S. Wyner
Read more…
Barrington Scott - BOT
Barrington Scott
Read more…
Gwendolyn Hubbard Lewis - BOT
Gwendolyn Hubbard Lewis
Read more…
Major General Errol R Schwartz, U.S. Army (Ret.)- BOT

Major General Errol R Schwartz,
U.S. Army (Ret.)
Read more…

Dr. Carolyn B. Rudd - BOT Member
Dr. Carolyn B. Rudd
Read more…

Ken Grossinger
Read more…
Joella Roberts
(Student Representative)

Read more…
 Ronald F. Mason University of the District of Columbia President Ex-Officio - BOT
Ronald F. Mason
University of the District of Columbia President

Office of the Board of Trustees

Contact: phone 202.274.5700

Beverly Franklin, Executive Secretary
phone 202.274.6258  |   email

Upcoming Meetings
All meetings are held in Building 39, 3rd Floor Board Room

Rescheduled Regular Meeting of the Academic and Student Affairs Committee, Monday October 24, 2016 - 6pm | Agenda
Audit Budget and Finance Committee, Monday, November 14, 2016 - 6pm
Community College Committee Committee, Tuesday, November 15, 2016 - 6pm