The Nine Strands

In the General Education Program, curricula are geared toward addressing and achieving bundles of theme-driven learning outcomes, called Strands.

These themes cut across academic disciplines, supporting both interdisciplinary cooperation among faculty and a variety of choices for students. The learning Strands are developmentally ordered and accompanied by measurable Student Learning Objectives that serve as guidelines for course development, delivery, assessment, and revision.

The Nine Strands are:

  1. Ethics and Values
  2. Service/Civics/Teamwork
  3. Oral Communication
  4. Critical Reading and Written Language
  5. Quantitative Reasoning
  6. Effective Use of Technology
  7. Local and Global Diversity
  8. Environmental Consciousness
  9. Exploration of New Ideas Across the Lifespan

View a detailed explanation of the Student Learning Objectives associated with each strand.