2021 CAS Honors Convocation

2021 CAS Honors Convocation

2021 CAS Honors Convocation

The Annual CAS Honors Convocation was held on Tuesday, April 27, 2021. This spring event recognizes faculty and students for their excellence in scholarship and service. This was the first time the College held the ceremony online due to the pandemic; however, this did not prevent our community of scholars and friends from joining the celebration. Nearly 200 students, faculty, staff, and community supporters gathered to congratulate CAS honors recipients. President Ronald Mason and Provost Lawrence Potter addressed the audience and praised students for their hard work and resilience during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Students honored at the CAS Academic Honors Convocation attained the highest academic standing in these categories: Highest GPA (3.8 – 4.0), High GPA (3.6 – 3.79), Straight A, and Top Student Awards. Gavin Pierce, Jade Witter, and Mariana C. Barros-Titus were also honored and selected by faculty in the College for their academic achievement, service, and leadership.

List of Honorees:

Accomplishment in Leadership — Dr. Uche Udeochu

Accomplishment in Research and Scholarship — Dr. Afiya Mbilishaka

Accomplishment in Service and Advocacy — Dr. Ceymone Dyce

Leader of Promise — Dr. Ada Vilageliu-Díaz & Dr. Alexandra Taraboletti

Scholar of Promise — Dr. Ozlem Dilek & Dr. Leah Claiborne

Teaching Excellence — Professor Fred Ratliff

Teacher of Promise — Dr. Dhymsy Vixamar-Owens

Community Partner — Gwendolyn Payton, Principal Anne Beers Elementary School

Staff Innovation — Ms. Lisa Sutton

Staff Lifetime Achievement — Mr. Willie “Stu” Gardner

Advocate of Hope   – Gavin Pierce

Leader of Hope   – Jade Witter

Scholar of Hope – Mariana C. Barros-Titus


2021 CAS Honors Convocation