Slide

SEAS Faculty Areas of Expertise

CIVIL ENGINEERING

Hossain Azam, Ph.D., P.E.–Experimental and Modeling Based Water and Wastewater (Water Resources Engineering, Urban Water Systems, Storm Water Management, Non-Point Source Pollution, Climate Change. Municipal & Industrial) Treatment, Solid Waste Management with Leachate Treatment, Water-Energy-Food-Climate Nexus, Environmental Chemistry and Microbiology, Groundwater/Sediment Remediation, Resources Recovery, Environmental Engineering Education. 202.274.6293, hossain.azam@udc.edu

Pradeep Behera, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE (Department Chair)–Water Resources Engineering, Urban Water Systems, Storm Water Management, Non-Point Source Pollution, Climate Change. 202.274.6186, pbehera@udc.edu

Bryan Higgs, Ph.D.–Psychophysiological Driver Behavior, Transportation Network Vulnerability and Optimization, Travel Demand Modeling, Multi-level Multi-Objective Game Theory. 202.274.6600, bryan.higgs@udc.edu

Lei Wang, Ph.D., P.E.–Geotechnical Risk and Reliability, Infrastructure Robustness and Resilience, Supported Excavation and Tunneling, Reliability-Based Geotechncial Design and LRFD Calibration, Earthen Levees and Dams, Sustainable Civil Engineering Materials, Numerical and Centrifuge Modeling, Soil Liquefaction and Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering, Foundation Engineering. 202.274.6327, lei.wang@udc.edu

Ahmet Zeytinci, Ph.D., P.E., Fellow-ASCE, Fellow-NSPE–Structural Engineering, Structural Dynamics, Earthquake Engineering, Structural Analysis and Design, Engineering Education, Engineering License Exams. 202.274.6291, azeytinci@udc.edu

 

COMPUTER SCIENCE AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

Uzma Amir–Area Robotics, STEM Programs. 202.274.6550, uzma.amir@udc.edu

Li Chen, Ph.D.–Image Processing, Object-oriented Programming and Design, Algorithm Design and Complexity, Discrete Geometry and Digital Geometry, Data Science: Theory and Applications. 202.274.6301, lchen@udc.edu

Anteneh Girma, Ph.D.–Information Security and Assurance, CyberSecurity, CyberSecurity Intelligence, CyberSecurity Governance, Risk Management, and Security Auditing, Cloud Computing and Security, Internet of Things and Security, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Cryptography, and Data Science. 202.274.6548, anteneh.girma@udc.edu

Dong Hyun Jeong, Ph.D.–Human-Computer Interaction, Visual Analytics, Information Visualization, Cloud Computing. 202.274.6292, djeong@udc.edu

Thabet Kacem, Ph.D.–Cybersecurity, Smart Transportation Systems, Software-defined Radios/Radars, Cyber Physical Systems, Sea Level Rise. 202.274.5809, thabet.kacem@udc.edu

Junwhan Kim, Ph.D.–Distributed Systems, Software and Hardware Transactional Memory, Fault Tolerance, Wireless Networking, Cross-layer Optimization. 202.274.7455, junwhan.kim@udc.edu

Lily Liang, Ph.D.–Digital Image Processing, Artificial Intelligence, Bioinformatics, Data Mining. 202.274.5086, lliang@udc.edu

Timothy Oladunni, Ph.D.–Data Analysis, Pattern Recognition, Software Engineering, Deep Learning, Business Intelligence, Data Mining. 202.274.5512, timothy.oladunni@udc.edu

Briana Wellman, Ph.D. (Department Chair)–Multi-robot System, Educational Robotics, Autonomous Systems. 202.274.6695, briana.wellman@udc.edu

Byunggu Yu, Ph.D.–Database, Cloud Computing, Big Data, Bigtable, MapReduce, Sensor-Network DB, Information Storage and Retrieval, Spatial Database, Spatio-temporal Database, High-dimensional Database, Indexing, Data Modeling, Operating Systems, Mobile Database, Informatics. 202.274.6289, byu@udc.edu

 

ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING

Paul Cotae, Ph.D.–Digital Communication, Cyber Security, Machine Learning, Anomaly Detection, Intrusion Visualization. 202.274.6290, pcotae@udc.edu

Hongmei Dang, Ph.D.–Nanoscale Device Fabrication & Modelling, Defect Analysis, Nanoscale Electronic & Solar Cells, 2D Materials. 202.274.5836, hongmei.dang@udc.edu

Sasan Haghani, Ph.D.–Smart Grid and Renewable Energy, Wireless Sensor Networks, Broadband Communications. 202.274.6595, shaghani@udc.edu

Wagdy Mahmoud, Ph.D., P.E.–System-level Hardware/software Co-design, Digital Signal Processing, Embedded & Cyber-Physical Systems. 202.274.5239, wmahmoud@udc.edu

Esther Ososanya, Ph.D. (Department Chair)–Microcomputer Architecture, VLSI & ASIC Designs, Embedded Systems, Nanotechnology, Renewable Energy. 202.274.5837, eososanya@udc.edu

Amir Shahirinia, Ph.D.–Power Systems Optimal Planning and Control, Power Electronics and Motor Drives, Renewable Energy; Smart Grids; V2G and G2V; Plug-in Electric Vehicle, Artificial Intelligence, Bayesian Statistics, Data Analysis, Algorithm Development. 202.274.6917, amir.shahirinia@udc.edu

Nian Zhang, Ph.D.–Computational Intelligence, Machine Learning and Data Mining, Big data, Time Series Prediction. 202.274.6615, nzhang@udc.edu

 

MECHANICAL AND BIOMEDICAL ENGINEERING

Ji Chen, Ph.D.-Wearable Robotics and Control, Biomechanics Analysis and modelling, Assistive technology and techniques, Movement enhancement protocol design. 202.274.5039, ji.chen@udc.edu

Max Denis, Ph.D.–Diagnostic ultrasound & tissue elasticity imaging, Breast and thyroid cancer detection, Acoustic remote sensing. 202.274.5045, max.denis@udc.edu

Kate Klein, Ph.D. (Department Chair)–Nanomaterials synthesis & characterization, Microscopy, Electron and ion beam applications, In-situ experimentation, Mechanical properties of materials. 202.274.7131, kate.klein@udc.edu

Ludwig C. Nitsche, Ph.D.–Microhydrodynamics, multiphase flow and diffusion, computer simulations with particle methods, applied mathematics, applications in drug delivery. 202.274.5082, ludwig.nitsche@udc.edu

Devdas Shetty, Ph.D., P.E.–Smart manufacturing, Design for mechatronics, Rehabilitation products, Robotics, Surface roughness. 202.274.5033, devdas.shetty@udc.edu

Lara Thompson, Ph.D.–Postural control and mobility, Non-invasive and invasive prostheses, Sensory substitutes, Rehabilitative devices. 202.274.5046, lara.thompson@udc.edu

Pawan Tyagi, Ph.D.–Molecular spintronics, Additive manufacturing and postprocessing, Spin photovoltaic cells and solar thermal air heaters, Nano biosensors and brain imaging, Student presentation based effective Teaching (SPET). 202.274.6601, ptyagi@udc.edu

Jiajun Xu, Ph.D., P.E.–Multiscale thermal transport and energy conversion, Multiscale modeling and simulation, Thermal-fluid science, Nanotechnology, Renewable energy and water treatment, Additive manufacturing. 202.274.5048, jiajun.xu@udc.edu