Meet Your Academic Advisors

Community College

STUDENT SUCCESS SPECIALISTS COMMUNITY COLLEGE ADVISING CASELOADS
Prof. Kunhee Lee
kunhee.lee@udc.edu
202.274.6362
Education
Dr. Janice Jackson
janice.jackson1@udc.edu
202.235.5385
Architectural Engineering Tech., Computer Accounting Tech.,
Computer Science Technology, Construction Management,
Graphic Design, Music
Ms. Tara McNair
tara.mcnair@udc.edu
202.875.2066
Administrative Office Management, Aviation Maintenance Tech.,
Business Administration, Business Technology, Fashion Merchandising, Hospitality Management-Tourism.
Mr. Lasean Robinson
lasean.robinson@udc.edu
202.963.8509
Liberal Studies, Non-Degree Seeking Students, Natural Science, Nursing (Students Not Enrolled in Program)
Mr. Breion Goldsby-Harris
Academic Coach
breion.goldsbyharris@udc.edu
202.875.4060
Probation Students (Van Ness and Community College)
Dr. William Hacker
Assistant Dean
william.hacker@udc.edu
202-274-6720
Legal Assistant, Law Enforcement, Corrections Administration
Dr. Sharon Murphy*
Allied Health Student Navigator
sharon.murphy@udc.edu
202.274.6853
Mortuary Science, Natural Science, Respiratory Therapy,
Nursing (Students Already Enrolled in Program)

Van Ness

Freshmen and Sophomores pursuing bachelor’s degrees.

ACADEMIC ADVISING VAN NESS ADVISING CASELOADS
Jasmine Fleming
jasmine.fleming@udc.edu
202-923-0585
Art (BA), Administration of Justice (BA), Digital Media, Early Childhood Education,
Elementary Education (BA), English (BA), Human Development, Music (BM), Political Science,
Social Work, Special Education, Psychology, Business Management, Marketing, Finance, Accounting, Management Information Systems
Gift Middlebrooks
gift.middlebrooks@udc.edu
202-963-8515
Civil Engineering (BS), Biomedical Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Information Technology, Mechanical Engineering (BS) (BA), Biology (BS),
Chemistry (BS), Mathematics
Mr. Breion Goldsby-Harris (Academic Coach)
breion.goldsbyharris@udc.edu 202-875-4060
Probation Students (Van Ness and Community College)
Ms. Latosha Baldwin
Assistant Director of Student Success
latosha.baldwin@udc.edu
202-274-6604
Non-Degree Seeking Students
Dr. Darryl Hylton
Academic Coach
darryl.hylton@udc.edu
202-963-8508
DC-UP Students

FRESHMEN AND SOPHOMORES PURSUING A BACHELOR’S DEGREE WILL MEET WITH THEIR PROFESSIONAL ADVISORS. THEY WILL RECEIVE A TRANSITION EMAIL WHEN IT IS TIME TO MEET WITH THEIR FACULTY ADVISOR.

For students seeking a Bachelor’s degree that are classified as a junior or senior. (60 credits and above)

Please review the list below to identify your faculty advisor. You MUST contact your faculty advisor to schedule an appointment.

School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (SEAS) Faculty Advisors

DEPARTMENT OF CIVIL ENGINEERING
Name Title Email Phone
Dr. Pradeep Behera Chair and Professor pbehera@udc.edu 202.274.6186
Dr. Hossain Azam Assistant Professor hossain.azam@udc.edu 202.274.6293
Dr. Bryan Higgs Assistant Professor bryan.higgs@udc.edu 202.274.6600
Dr. Lei Wang Assistant Professor lei.wang@udc.edu 202.274.6327
Dr. Ahmet Zeytinci Professor azeytinci@udc.edu 202.274.6291
DEPARTMENT OF COMPUTER SCIENCE & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY
Name Title Email Phone
Dr. Briana Wellman Chair and Associate Professor briana.wellman@udc.edu 202.274.6695
Ms. Uzma Amir Instructor uzma.amir@udc.edu 202.274.6550
Dr. Li Chen Professor lchen@udc.edu 202.274.6301
Dr. Anteneh Girma Associate Professor Anteneh.Girma@udc.edu 202.274-6548
Dr. Dong Jeong Associate Professor djeong@udc.edu 202.274.7455
Dr. Thabet Kacem Assistant Professor thabet.kacem@udc.edu 202.274.5809
Dr. Junwan Kim Assistant Professor junwhan.kim@udc.edu 202.274.7455
Dr. Lily Liang Professor lliang@udc.edu 202.274.5086
Dr. Timothy Oladunni Assistant Professor timothy.oladunni@udc.edu 202.274.5512
Dr. Byunggu Yu Professor byu@udc.edu 202.274.6289
DEPARTMENT OF ELECTRICAL & COMPUTER ENGINEERING
Name Title Email Phone
Dr. Esther Ososanya Professor eososanya@udc.edu 202.274.5837
Dr. Paul Cotae Department Chair pcotae@udc.edu 202.274.6290
Dr. Hongmei Dang Assistant Professor Hongmei.dang@udc.edu 202.274.5836
Dr. Sasan Haghani Professor shaghani@udc.edu 202.274.6595
Dr. Wagdy Mahmoud Professor wmahmoud@udc.edu 202.274.5239
Dr. Amir Shahirinia Assistant Professor amir.shahirinia@udc.edu 202.274.6917
Dr. Nian Zhang Professor nzhang@udc.edu 202.274.6615
DEPARTMENT OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
Name Title Email Phone
Dr. Kate Klein Chair and Associate Professor kate.klein@udc.edu 202.274.7131
Dr. Ji Chen Visiting Assistant Professor ji.chen@udc.edu 202.274.5039
Dr. Max Denis Assistant Professor (Advisor for Biomedical Engineering max.denis@udc.edu 202.274.5045
Dr. Ludwig Nitsche Associate Dean and Professor ludwig.nitsche@udc.edu 202.274.5039
Dr. Mohammad Reza Shaeri Assistant Professor mohammadreza.shaeri@udc.edu
Dr. Devdas Shetty Dean, Professor of Mechanical Engineering devdas.shetty@udc.edu 202. 274.5220
Dr. Lara Thompson Associate Professor (Advisor for Biomedical Engineering) lara.thompson@udc.edu 202.274.5046
Dr. Pawan Tyagi Professor ptyagi@udc.edu 202.274.6601
Dr. Jiajun Xu Associate Professor jiajun.xu@udc.edu 202.274.5048

If having difficulty reaching your advisor or need other assistance please contact Ann Lankford, Director of Student Engagement, ann.lankford@udc.edu, 202.274.5699.

College of Arts and Sciences

Faculty Advisor

Title

Email

Phone

Prof. Ayanna Kelley

Program Coordinator/Elementary Education Faculty Advisor

ayanna.kelley@udc.edu

202-274-7245

Dr. Delia Robinson-Richards

Early Childhood Education Majors Advisor

drrichards@udc.edu

202.274.5875

Dr. Arlene King-Berry

Special Education Major Advisor

akberry@udc.edu

 202.274.5973

Prof. Angela Bullock

Program Director of Social Work

Transfer/Returning/Readmission (initial interview)

angela.bullock@udc.edu

202-274-5711

Prof. Michelle Levere

Field Supervisor of Social Work

Transfer/Returning/Readmission (initial interview)

mlevere@udc.edu

202-274-6793

Dr. Angela Henderson

Social Work Faculty Advisor

Beginning A – G

Angela.henderson@udc.edu

Dr. Akosoa McFadgion

Social Work Faculty Advisor

Beginning H – L

Akosoa.mcfadgion@udc.edu

Dr. Krystal Dozier

Social Work Faculty Advisor

Beginning M – Q

krystal.dozier@udc.edu

Dr. Lisa Sechrest-Ehrhardt

Social Work Faculty Advisor

Beginning in R – Z

lisa.Sechrestehrhard@udc.edu

Dr. Niyana Rasayon

Program Coordinator Psychology

Niyana.rasayon@udc.edu

Dr. Shymsy Vixamar Owens

Program Coordinator Psychology

Dhymsy.vixamarowens@udc.edu

Faculty Advisor Title Email Phone
Prof. Olive Vassell Program Coordinator of Digital Media ovassell@udc.edu 202-274-7371
Prof. Helene Krauthamer Program Coordinator of English hkrauthamer@udc.edu 202-274-5626
Prof. Niyangoda Rukman Program Coordinator of Art rniyangoda@udc.edu 202-274-7353
Dr. Megan Fitzgerald Program Coordinator Human Development megan.fitzgerald@udc.edu 202-274- 5737
Prof. Judith Korey Program Coordinator of Music jkorey@udc.edu 202-274-5803
Dr. Angelyn Flowers Program Coordination Administrative Justice aflowers@udc.edu 202-274-5689
Dr. Amanda Huron Faculty Chair Political Science amanda.huron@udc.edu 202-274-7244
Faculty Advisor Title Email Phone
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY
 Alexandra Taraboletti Faculty
Chemistry
alexandra.tarabolett@udc.edu 202-274-6229
 Uche Udeoch Faculty
Chemistry
uche.udeochu@udc.edu NA
Ozlem Dilek Faculty
Chemistry
ozlem.dilek@udc.edu NA
Winston Nottingham Faculty
Chemistry
wnottingham@udc.edu 202-274-6274
Xueqing Song Department Chair
Chemistry
xsong@udc.edu 202-274-7425
DEPARTMENT OF BIOLOGY
Samuel Waters Program Chair
Faculty Advisor
Biology
samuel.waters@udc.edu 202-274-5937
Rosie Sneed Faculty Advisor
Biology
rsneed@udc.edu 202-274-6022
Freddie Dixon Faculty Advisor
Biology
fdixon@udc.edu 202-274-6474
Carolyn Cousin Faculty Advisor
Biology
ccousin@udc.edu 202-274-5874
Mathlide Knight Faculty Advisor
Biology
mathilde.knight@udc.edu 202-274-6486
DEPARTMENT OF MATH
Shurron Farmer Program Chair
Math
sfarmer@udc.edu 202-274-7218
Bertrum Foster Faculty Advisor
Math
bertrum.foster@udc.edu 202-274-6151
Abdi Darai Faculty Advisor
Math
adarai@udc.edu 202-274-5662
Dorshka Wylie Faculty Advisor
Math
dorshka.wylie@udc.edu
Gita Pippin Faculty Advisor
Math
gita.pippin@udc.edu
Miftahul Qorib Faculty Advisor
Math
miftahul.qorib@udc.edu 202-274-7428
Fredic Ratliff Faculty Advisor
Math
fredric.ratliff@udc.edu
DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS
Xueqing Song Department Chair
Physics
xsong@udc.edu 202-274-6074
Shurron Farmer Program Chair Physics sfarmer@udc.edu 202-274-6218

College of Agriculture, Urban Sustainability and Environmental Sciences

CAUSES Dean’s Office
Senior Leadership
Title
Dr. Dwane Jones Dean
Dr. Richardo Brown Associate Dean of Academics
Dr. Rochelle Rush Assistant Dean for Programs and Administration

 

Program Advisors

Program Advisor Title Email
Dr. Sabine O’Hara Ph.D. in Urban Leadership + Enterpreneurship sabine.ohara@udc.edu
Dr. Anna Franz & Professor Ralph Benton B.S. and Master of Architecture Anna.franz@udc.edu | rbelton@udc.edu
Dr. Kamran Zendehdel B.A. Urban Sustainability kamran.zendehdel@udc.edu
Dr. Tolessa Dekissa Professional Science Master’s: Urban Agriculture, Urban Sustainability, and Water Resources Management tdeksissa@udc.edu
B.S. in Nutrition & Dietetics Faculty unavailable
Dr. Elmira Asongwed RN to B.S. in Nursing easongwed@udc.edu
Dr. Phronie Jackson B.S. in Health Education phronie.jackson@udc.edu

Please note: Due to the sequential nature of the curriculum in the Architecture & Community Planning major, please refer ALL freshmen and sophomores to the Department of Architecture and Community Planning for advising.

If you are unable to reach a CAUSES faculty member please contact: Marshelle Hailstock, mhailstock@udc.edu, 202.274.7135 (O) and 202.841.1613 (C) 

School of Business and Public Administration

(the on-campus office is closed at this time; please reach us online)
Skype: live:sbpa.management (primary dial up line)

Phone:
202.274.7040
please dial us on Skype @ live:sbpa.management to reach a live person

E-mail:
sbpamgt@udc.edu

Business Management Junior and Senior Faculty Advisors

Dr. Sergey Ivanov

sivanov@udc.edu

Last Name starting w/ A-B
Dr. Amit Arora

amit.arora@udc.edu

Last Name starting w/ C-D
Dr. Donavan Collier

donovan.collier@udc.edu

Last Name starting w/ E, F, G
Dr. Feng Xu

feng.xu@udc.edu

Last Name starting w/ H, I, J
Dr. Michael Tannen

mtannen@udc.edu

Last Name starting w/ K-L
Dr. Anshu Arora

anshu.arora@udc.edu

Last Name starting w/ M
Dr. Paul Bachman

pbachman@udc.edu

Last Name starting w/ N, O, P, Q
Dr. Raquel Brown-Gaston

rgaston@udc.edu

Last Name starting w/ R-S
Dr. Dazhong Wu

dazhong.wu@udc.edu

Last Name starting w/ T-W
Dr. Jian Hua

jhua@udc.edu

Last Name starting w/ Y, Z

 Dr. Tih Kook Tan               tihkoon.tan@udc.edu