Meet Your Academic Advisors

Community College

STUDENT SUCCESS SPECIALISTS COMMUNITY COLLEGE ADVISING CASELOADS
Prof. Kunhee Lee
kunhee.lee@udc.edu
202.274.6362
Education
Dr. Janice Jackson
janice.jackson1@udc.edu
202.235.5385
https://udc.campus.eab.com/pal/OOtd_xN_pu
Architectural Engineering Tech., Computer Accounting Tech.,
Computer Science Technology, Construction Management,
Graphic Design, Music
Ms. Tara McNair
tara.mcnair@udc.edu
202.875.2066
https://udc.campus.eab.com/pal/EwfzTZeyHt
Administrative Office Management, Aviation Maintenance Tech.,
Business Administration, Business Technology, Fashion Merchandising, Hospitality Management-Tourism.
Mr. Lasean Robinson
lasean.robinson@udc.edu
202.963.8509
https://udc.campus.eab.com/pal/pkpU1qUjJH
Liberal Studies, Non-Degree Seeking Students,
Nursing (Students Not Enrolled in Program)
Mr. Breion Goldsby-Harris
Academic Coach
breion.goldsbyharris@udc.edu
202.875.4060
https://udc.campus.eab.com/pal/_dFm7Fs1c7
Probation Students (Van Ness and Community College)
Dr. William Hacker
Assistant Dean
william.hacker@udc.edu
202-274-6720
Legal Assistant, Law Enforcement, Corrections Administration
Dr. Sharon Murphy
Allied Health Student Navigator
sharon.murphy@udc.edu
202.274.6853
Mortuary Science, Natural Science, Respiratory Therapy,
Nursing (Students Enrolled in Program)

Van Ness

 

ACADEMIC ADVISING – VAN NESS VAN NESS ADVISING CASELOADS
Mr. Grady Wright
grady.wright@udc.edu
202-819-2327 –  CLICK BELOW TO MAKE AN APPT https://udc.campus.eab.com/pal/mbSv3Ae3KI
Business Management, Marketing, Finance, Accounting, Management Information Systems, Health Education, (not taking new students) Nutrition and Dietetics, Urban Sustainability, Architecture (BS)
Jasmine Fleming
jasmine.fleming@udc.edu
202-923-0585 –  CLICK BELOW TO MAKE AN APPT https://udc.campus.eab.com/pal/OsO_BgidwZ
Art (BA), Administration of Justice (BA), Digital Media, Early Childhood Education, Elementary Education (BA), English (BA), Human Development, Music (BM), Political Science, Social Work, Special Education, Psychology
Gift Middlebrooks
gift.middlebrooks@udc.edu
202-963-8515 -–  CLICK BELOW TO MAKE AN APPT
https://udc.campus.eab.com/pal/tcRR4wUncK
Civil Engineering (BS), Biomedical Engineering, Computer Science,
Electrical Engineering, Information Technology, Mechanical Engineering (BS) (BA), Biology (BS), Chemistry (BS), Mathematics
Please meet with:
Mr. Breion Goldsby-Harris
Academic Coach breion.goldsbyharris@udc.edu
202-875-4060 – CLICK BELOW TO MAKE AN APPT
https://udc.campus.eab.com/pal/dFm7Fs1c7
Ms. Latosha Baldwin
Assistant Director of Student Success
latosha.baldwin@udc.edu
202-274-6604
SEND EMAIL FOR ADVISING ASSISTANCE
Non-Degree Seeking Students SEND EMAIL FOR ADVISING ASSISTANCE
Dr. Darryl Hylton
Academic Coach
darryl.hylton@udc.edu
202-963-8508 – CLICK BELOW TO MAKE AN APPT
https://udc.campus.eab.com/pal/2yMFZTkg1J
DC-UP Students (Van Ness and Community College)

FRESHMEN AND SOPHOMORES PURSUING A BACHELOR’S DEGREE WILL MEET WITH THEIR PROFESSIONAL ADVISORS. THEY WILL RECEIVE A TRANSITION EMAIL WHEN IT IS TIME TO MEET WITH THEIR FACULTY ADVISOR.

For students seeking a Bachelor’s degree that are classified as a junior or senior. (60 credits and above)

Please review the list below to identify your faculty advisor. You MUST contact your faculty advisor to schedule an appointment.

School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (SEAS) Faculty Advisors

DEPARTMENT OF CIVIL ENGINEERING
Name Title Email Phone
Dr. Pradeep Behera Chair and Professor pbehera@udc.edu 202.274.6186
Dr. Hossain Azam Assistant Professor hossain.azam@udc.edu 202.274.6293
Dr. Bryan Higgs Assistant Professor bryan.higgs@udc.edu 202.274.6600
Dr. Lei Wang Assistant Professor lei.wang@udc.edu 202.274.6327
Dr. Ahmet Zeytinci Professor azeytinci@udc.edu 202.274.6291
DEPARTMENT OF COMPUTER SCIENCE & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY
Name Title Email Phone
Dr. Briana Wellman Chair and Associate Professor briana.wellman@udc.edu 202.274.6695
Ms. Uzma Amir Instructor uzma.amir@udc.edu 202.274.6550
Dr. Li Chen Professor lchen@udc.edu 202.274.6301
Dr. Anteneh Girma Associate Professor Anteneh.Girma@udc.edu 202.274-6548
Dr. Dong Jeong Associate Professor djeong@udc.edu 202.274.7455
Dr. Thabet Kacem Assistant Professor thabet.kacem@udc.edu 202.274.5809
Dr. Junwan Kim Assistant Professor junwhan.kim@udc.edu 202.274.7455
Dr. Lily Liang Professor lliang@udc.edu 202.274.5086
Oladunni Assistant Professor timothy.oladunni@udc.edu 202.274.5512
Dr. Byunggu Yu Professor byu@udc.edu 202.274.6289
DEPARTMENT OF ELECTRICAL & COMPUTER ENGINEERING
Name Title Email Phone
Dr. Esther Ososanya Chair and Professor eososanya@udc.edu 202.274.5837
Dr. Paul Cotae Professor pcotae@udc.edu 202.274.6290
Dr. Hongmei Dang Assistant Professor hongmei-dang@udc.edu 202.274.5836
Dr. Sasan Haghani Professor shaghani@udc.edu 202.274.6595
Dr. Wagdy Mahmoud Professor wmahmoud@udc.edu 202.274.5239
Dr. Amir Shahirinia Assistant Professor amir.shahirinia@udc.edu 202.274.6917
Dr. Nian Zhang Professor nzhang@udc.edu 202.274.6615
DEPARTMENT OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
Name Title Email Phone
Dr. Kate Klein Chair and Associate Professor kate.klein@udc.edu 202.274.7131
Dr. Ji Chen Visiting Assistant Professor ji.chen@udc.edu 202.274.5039
Dr. Max Denis Assistant Professor (Advisor for Biomedical Engineering max.denis@udc.edu 202.274.5045
Dr. Ludwig Nitsche Associate Dean and Professor ludwig.nitsche@udc.edu 202.274.5039
Dr. Mohammad Reza Shaeri Assistant Professor mohammadreza.shaeri@udc.edu
Dr. Devdas Shetty Dean, Professor of Mechanical Engineering devdas.shetty@udc.edu 202. 274.5220
Dr. Lara Thompson Associate Professor (Advisor for Biomedical Engineering) lara.thompson@udc.edu 202.274.5046
Dr. Pawan Tyagi Professor ptyagi@udc.edu 202.274.6601
Dr. Jiajun Xu Associate Professor jiajun.xu@udc.edu 202.274.5048

College of Arts and Sciences

Faculty Advisor

Title

Email

Phone

Prof. Ayanna Kelley Program Director of Education Unit (Early, Elementary and Special Education) ayanna.kelley@udc.edu 202-274-7245
Prof. Angela Bullock Program Director of Social Work
Beginning A-G
Transfer/Returning/Readmission (initial interview)
angela.bullock@udc.edu 202-274-5719
Prof. Michelle Levere Field Supervisor of Social Work
Beginning in H-N
Transfer/Returning/Readmission (initial interview)
mlevere@udc.edu 202-274-6793
Dr. Lisa Sechrest-Ehrhardt Beginning in O-Z lisa.Sechrestehrhard@udc.edu
Dr. Niyana Rasayon Program Coordinator Psychology Niyana.rasayon@udc.edu

Dr. Shymsy Vixamar Owens Program Coordinator Psychology Dhymsy.vixamarowens@udc.edu

Faculty Advisor Title Email Phone
Prof. Olive Vassell Program Coordinator of Digital Media ovassell@udc.edu 202-274-7371
Prof. Helene Krauthamer Program Coordinator of English hkrauthamer@udc.edu 202-274-5626
Prof. Niyangoda Rukman Program Coordinator of Art rniyangoda@udc.edu 202-274-7353
Dr. Megan Fitzgerald Program Coordinator Human Development megan.fitzgerald@udc.edu 202-274- 5737
Prof. Judith Korey Program Coordinator of Music jkorey@udc.edu 202-274-5803
Dr. Angelyn Flowers Program Coordination Administrative Justice aflowers@udc.edu 202-274-5689
Dr. Amanda Huron Faculty Chair Political Science amanda.huron@udc.edu 202-274-7244
Faculty Advisor Title Email Phone
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY
 Alexandra Taraboletti Faculty
Chemistry
alexandra.tarabolett@udc.edu 202-274-6229
 Uche Udeoch Faculty
Chemistry
uche.udeochu@udc.edu NA
Ozlem Dilek Faculty
Chemistry
ozlem.dilek@udc.edu NA
Winston Nottingham Faculty
Chemistry
wnottingham@udc.edu 202-274-6274
Xueqing Song Department Chair
Chemistry
xsong@udc.edu 202-274-7425
DEPARTMENT OF BIOLOGY
Samuel Waters Program Chair
Faculty Advisor
Biology
samuel.waters@udc.edu 202-274-5937
Rosie Sneed Faculty Advisor
Biology
rsneed@udc.edu 202-274-6022
Freddie Dixon Faculty Advisor
Biology
fdixon@udc.edu 202-274-6474
Carolyn Cousin Faculty Advisor
Biology
ccousin@udc.edu 202-274-5874
Mathlide Knight Faculty Advisor
Biology
mathilde.knight@udc.edu 202-274-6486
DEPARTMENT OF MATH
Shurron Farmer Program Chair
Math
sfarmer@udc.edu 202-274-7218
Bertrum Foster Faculty Advisor
Math
bertrum.foster@udc.edu 202-274-6151
Abdi Darai Faculty Advisor
Math
adarai@udc.edu 202-274-5662
Dorshka Wylie Faculty Advisor
Math
dorshka.wylie@udc.edu
Gita Pippin Faculty Advisor
Math
gita.pippin@udc.edu
Miftahul Qorib Faculty Advisor
Math
miftahul.qorib@udc.edu 202-274-7428
Fredic Ratliff Faculty Advisor
Math
fredric.ratliff@udc.edu
DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS
Xueqing Song Department Chair
Physics
xsong@udc.edu 202-274-6074
Shurron Farmer Program Chair Physics sfarmer@udc.edu 202-274-6218