College of agriculture, urban sustainability and environmental sciences Deep Dive with CAUSES College of agriculture, urban sustainability and environmental sciences UDC CAUSES Impact Report 2020 The time to earn your master's degree is now. Click here to download pdf CAUSES April Newsletter College of agriculture, urban sustainability and environmental sciences Earth Day - April 22, 2021 College of agriculture, urban sustainability and environmental sciences UDC Farmers Market Image College of agriculture, urban sustainability and environmental sciences Become a PSM Scholarship Recipient College of agriculture, urban sustainability and environmental sciences

Faculty & Staff Roster

 

Office of the Dean

Dr. Dwane Jones Acting Dean and Director of Land-Grant Programs 71/5243 202.274.7182 dwane.jones@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Urban Sustainability, Urban Stormwater Management, Environmental Policy, Urban Design, Public Health
Brittany Loca Project Manager 71/5241 202.951.0879 brittany.loca@udc.edu
Diane Hyman Deputy Director of Land-Grant Programs 71/5244 202.274.1737 dhyman@udc.edu
Andrew Carson Data and Assessment Manager 71/5322 202.597.2725 andrew.carson@udc.edu
Janet Spain Volunteer and Assessment Associate 71/5342 202.507.3305 janet.spain@udc.edu
DerWayne Henry Marketing and Communications Manager 71/5343 202.274.6686 derwayne.henry@udc.edu
Coretta Troxler Marketing and Communications Assistant 71/5240A 202.274.7123 Coretta.Troxler@udc.edu
Marshelle Hailstock Project Coordinator, Outreach and Recruitment 71/5240B 202.274.7135 mhailstock@udc.edu
Jose Santiago Budget and Grants Manager 71/5323 202.274.5365 jose.santiago@udc.edu
Monica Wiggins Contracts and Grants Associate 71/5321 202.274.7118 mwiggins@udc.edu

 

 

Land-grant Programs

Office of the Associate Dean

William Hare Associate Dean for Land-grant Programs 71/5221 202.274.7133 whare@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Soil Nutrients, Water Resources Management, Ethnic and Specialty Crops
Roy Lycorish Research and Logistics Associate Firebird Farm 301.937.6715 rlycorish@udc.edu
Rebecca Bankhead Manager for Youth Education and Resource Development 71/5315 202.274.7081 rbankhead@udc.edu

 

Center for Urban Agriculture and Gardening Education

Mchezaji Axum Director, Center for Urban Agriculture and Gardening Education 71/5137 202.274.6691 mchezaji.axum@udc.edu
Research Speciality: Soil Nutrition, High-Intensity Urban Farming, Agroecology
Dr. Matthew Richardson Assistant Director of Urban Agriculture Research 71/5135 202.274.5947 matthew.richardson@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Understanding plant-insect relationships in human-managed, disturbed, and restored habitats.
Lenneita Haigler Staff Assistant 71/7340 M 202.525.0245 lenneita.haigler@udc.edu
Matthew Gardine Assistant Farm Manager 71/5136 202.308.7113 matthew.gardine@udc.edu
Patricia Bon Project Associate 71/5136C 202.403.9487 patricia.bon@udc.edu
Vacant Senior Program Coordinator, Pesticide Safety
Dr. Mamatha Hanumappa Project Specialist, Ethnic and Specialty Crops 71/5133 202.274.5499 mamatha.hanumappa@udc.edu
Victoria Mirowski Project Assistant 71/5210D 202.819.5704 victoria.mirowski@udc.edu
Brian Barnes Project Assistant for Urban Agriculture brian.barnes@udc.edu
Thomas Wheet Research and Logistics Coordinator 71/5210J 202.274.5419 thomas.wheet@udc.edu
Caitlin Arlotta Research Associate, Urban Agriculture caitlin.arlotta@udc.edu
Dr. Caroline Staub Project Specialist 71/5131 352.246.0393 caroline.staub@udc.edu
Diego Lahaye  4H Program Associate 71/5420C

 

Center for Sustainable Development and Resilience

Dr. Kamran Zendehdel Acting Director, Sustainability Education 71/5118 202.274.7161 kamran.zendehdel@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Urban Sustainability, Environmental Policy, Experimental Design, Community Engagement, Group Decision Making
Harris Trobman Project Specialist, Green Infrastructure 71/5115 202.274.6682 harris.trobman@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Restoration of urban systems, with a particular interest in diverse and complex systems, and his skills include socially responsive design, community engagement, landscape architecture, urban design, and horticulture
Danyal Eisenbrandt Staff Assistant 71/5112 202.274.7139 caroline.howe@udc.edu
Elizabeth Gearin Project Specialist, Urban Planning 71/5110 202.274.7128 elizabeth.gearin@udc.edu
Simon Bird Project Specialist, Environmental & Public Health – Environmental Sustainability Adjunct Professor 71/5110 202.274.7128 simon.bird@udc.edu
Diana Dakik Project Specialist, Sustainability Innovation & Urban Resilience 71/5100 202.274.7128 diana.dakik@udc.edu
Mustafa Madyun Adult Education and Youth Advancement Specialist 71/5316 202.274.6494 yahya.madyun@udc.edu

 

Water Resources Research Institute

Dr. Tolessa Deksissa Director, Water Resources Research Institute 71/5111 202.274.5273 tdeksissa@udc.edu
Research Speciality: Water quality assessment and modeling; emerging contaminants; GIS-based modeling of green infrastructure; trace metal analysis and speciation with ICP-MS; analysis of pesticide, PCBs and emerging contaminants with GC-MS, analysis of pharmaceutical and personal care products using TOF-MS with DSA; fate and transport of organic contaminants in soil and water; modeling integrated urban wastewater system; adaptive water resources management; and fostering significant learning in science, technology, engineering and mathematics
Sbhat Tefera Project Specialist, Environmental Testing 42/110 202.274.6091 stefera@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Perchlorate analyses in drinking and groundwater contaminants, vegetables, fruits, and milk by LC/MS/MS (Liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry), sodium in low sodium food products by ICP/MS (Inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry), and detection of the adulteration of cereal flours with melamine and related triazine byproducts of ammeline, ammelide, and cyanuric acid by HPLC/DAD (High-Performance Liquid Chromatography with Diode-Array Detection)
Sania Rose Project Assistant, Environmental Testing Sciences 42/110 sania.rose@udc.edu
Vacant Field Laboratory Technician

 

Center for Architectural Innovation and Building Science

 

Center for Nutrition, Diet and Health

Dr. Lillie Monroe-Lord Director, Center for Nutrition, Diet & Health 71/5416 202.274.7125 lmonroelord@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Inner City Childhood Obesity Prevention, Food Security, Health Literacy and Geriatrics
Carmen Hernandez Staff Assistant 71/5220D 202.274.5530 carmen.hernandezcand@udc.edu
Dr. Tiffany Johnson-Largent Project Specialist, Health and Wellness 71/5415 202.274.6708 tiffany.johnsonlarge@udc.edu
Dr. Amy Schweitzer Project Specialist, Community Nutrition 71/5414 202.274.6596 amy.schweitzer@udc.edu
Paul Brown, Jr. Food Safety Coordinator 71/5410E 202.274.6490 pbrown@udc.edu
Miranda Desmarais Project Coordinator, SNAP-Ed 71/5410D 202.274.6783 miranda.desmarais@udc.edu
Cassidy Weitman Program Coordinator, SNAP-Ed 71/5410F 202.274.5770 cassidy.weitman@udc.edu
Gregory Cooper Project Coordinator, EFNEP 71/5410A 202.274.7172 gregory.cooper@udc.edu
Herbert Holden Extension Agent I 71/5410C 202.274.5755 hholden@udc.edu
Pamela Williams Project Assistant 71/5310K 202.274.6602 pmwilliams@udc.edu
Vacant Project Assistant
Vacant Sr. Program Coordinator Food Systems
Vacant Sr. Project Coordinator, SNAP-Ed
Banafsheh Dehdashtizadeh Sr. Project Coordinator, EFNEP banafsheh.dehdashtiz@udc.edu
Olivia Harp 4H Program Associate for High School 71/5420A 202.274.5208 olivia.harp@udc.edu

 

Institute of Gerontology

James Lee Volunteer Program Coordinator 71/5310B 202.274.6658 jlee@udc.edu
Kiera Ortiz Respite Aid/Bodywise Coordinator 71/5310F 202.274.6623 kiera.ortiz@udc.edu
Pamela Williams Project Assistant 71/5310K 202.274.6602 pmwilliams@udc.edu
Gayle Hutchinson Program Specialist, Gerontology, Health & Wellness

 

Academic Programs

Office of the Associate Dean

Dr. James Maiden Acting Associate Dean for CAUSES, Academic Programs and Acting Chair for the Department of Health, Nursing and Nutrition 71/5245 202.274.6366 james.maiden@udc.edu
Teresa Merz Staff Assistant, Associate Dean of Academics/Associate Dean of Operations 71/5240E 202.274.7129/202.738.0799 teresa.merz@udc.edu
Donta Thornton Staff Assistant 32/104 202.274.7167/202.594.7796 donta.thornton@udc.edu

 

Architecture and Urban Sustainability

Ralph Belton Acting Chair/Associate Professor 32/104C 202.274.5043 rbelton@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Preservation Rehabilitation
Dr. Sabine O’Hara Professor/PhD Urban Leadership 71/5111 202.274.7011 sabine.ohara@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Sustainable Economic Development, Community based approaches to Economic Development, Ecological and Agricultural Economics, stakeholder-based assessment, Discourse Based Valuation, Economic Development, and its Social/Cultural and Environmental Context.
Dr. Anna Franz Assistant Professor 32/104B 202.274.3249 ann.franz@udc.edu
Vacant Associate Professor
Kimberly Tuttle Assistant Professor 202.274.7446 kimberly.tuttle@udc.edu
Kathy Denise Dixon Assistant Professor 32/104G 202.274.6653 kdixon@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Urban Planning, LEED buildings
James Killette Adjunct Professor Architecture 32/C03 202.274.5056 jkillette@udc.edu
Dr. Brian Bramel Adjunct Professor Architecture 32/104B 202.274.3249 brian.bramel@udc.edu
Tara Pase Adjunct Professor Architecture 32/104B 202.274.3249 tara.pase@udc.edu
Howard Gibbs Adjunct Professor Architecture 32/104B 202.274.3249 hcgibbs06@gmail.com
Wanda Briscoe Adjunct Professor Architecture 32/104 202.274.7167 wanda.briscoe@udc.edu
Stanford Britt Adjunct Professor Architecture 32/104 202.274.7167 stanford.britt@udc.edu
Hyon Rah Adjunct Professor Architecture 32/104 202.274.7167 hyon.rah@udc.edu
Kenneth Filler Adjunct Professor Architecture 32/104 202.274.7167 kenneth.filler@udc.edu
Gina Fernandes Adjunct Professor Architecture 32/104 202.274.7167 gina.fernandes@udc.edu
Davide Prete Adjunct Professor Architecture 32/104 202.274.7167 davide.prete@udc.edu
Mohammad Kamal Adjunct Professor Architecture 32/104 202.274.7167 mohammad.kamal@udc.edu
Dr. Maros Ivanic Adjunct Professor PhD Urban Leadership 32/104 202.274.7167 maros.ivanic@udc.edu
Diana Dakik Adjunct Professor: Environmental Sustainability 32/104 202.274.7128 diana.dakik@udc.edu
Seema Thomas Adjunct Professor: Environmental Sustainability 32/104 202.274.7167 seema.thomas@udc.edu
Dr. Peter May Adjunct Professor: Environmental Sustainability 32/104 202.274.7167 peter.may@udc.edu
Dr. Emily Osborne Adjunct Professor: Environmental Sustainability 32/104 202.274.7167 emily.osborne@udc.edu
Tamrat Bedane Adjunct Professor: Environmental Sustainability 32/104 202.274.7167 tamrat.bedane@udc.edu
Niquinn Fowler Adjunct Professor: sabineEnvironmental Sustainability/PSM 32/104 202.274.7167 niquiin.fowler@udc.edu
Dr. Matthew Richardson PSM Coordinator, Urban Agriculture 71/5135 202.274.5947 Matthew.richardson@udc.edu
Dr. Tolessa Deksissa PSM Coordinator, Water Resources Management 71/5111 202.274.5273 tdeksissa@udc.edu

 

Health, Nursing & Nutrition

Dr. James Maiden Acting Associate Dean for CAUSES, Academic Programs and Acting Chair for the Department of Health, Nursing and Nutrition 71/5245 202.274.6366 james.maiden@udc.edu
Dr. Tia Jeffery Assistant Professor 71/5235 202.274.7142 tia.jeffery@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Urban Health Disparities, positive youth development via nutrition education and fitness, and Senior Wellness
Dr. B. Michelle Harris Associate Professor 71/5237 202.274.5739 bharris@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Minority health issues and reducing health disparities
Raeleena Collington Visiting Assistant Professor 202.274.5379 raeleena.collington@udc.edu
Dr. Phronie Jackson Assistant Professor for Health 71/5232 202.274.5932/202.963.8703 phronie.jackson@udc.edu
Bessei Stockard Associate Professor 71/5241 202.274.5076 bstockard@udc.edu
Dr. Pier A. Broadnax Program Director for Nursing/Associate Professor 71/5242 202.274.5916/202.963.8702 pbroadnax@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Leadership Development, Breast Cancer in Minority Women, Childhood Obesity
Elmira Asongwed Associate Professor 71/5233 202.274.5909 easongwe@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Secondary prevention with anklebrachial index measurements to identify peripheral artery disease and evidence-based education interventions for adult learners
Dr. Anne Marie Jean-Baptiste Assistant Professor 71/5234 202.274.5942 ajean-baptiste@udc.edu
Research Specialty: Critical Care and Adult Emergency Nursing
Linda Hinnant Adjunct Professor Nursing 71/5240E 202.274.7129 lhinnant@udc.edu
Dr. Clarence Stewart Adjunct Professor Health Education 71/5240E 202.274.7129 cmstewart@udc.edu
Charmaine Jones Adjunct Professor Nutrition 71/5240E 202.274.7129 charmaine.jones@udc.edu
Dr. Theodore Tadese Adjunct Professor Nutrition 71/5240E 202.274.7129 theodore.tadese@udc.edu