Page Header Image
Page Header Image
Page Header Image
Page Header Image
Page Header Image

Research Academy for Integrated Learning (RAIL)

Location: Building 41, Level 1

 RAILhelpdesk@udc.edu | 202.274.6628 | 202.274.6012

Office Hours: 8:00 am – 5:00 pm

YouTube RAIL Online

Content Collection FAQ

Below you will find a list of frequently asked questions concerning Blackboard Content Collection. For more helpful guides, visit Faculty Resources. If you have a problem not answered here, please contact Blackboard Helpdesk

Tel: 202.274.5665  -Toll Free: 877.736.2585 Email:  RAILhelpdesk@udc.edu In Person: Building 41, Room 106

Help Topics

What Will Be Covered

General information
How do I
Miscellaneous

What is the Blackboard Content Collection?
Blackboard's Content Collection is a file repository that allows faculty to store, manage, and share content.  The Content Collection functions as a virtual hard drive that can be accessed from any computer by logging into a user's Blackboard account.  When a file resides in the Content Collection, it can be easily reused and linked to from any Blackboard course, and if a file that resides in the Content Collection needs updating, faculty need to update it only once, eliminating the need to go into each course to upload an updated version of the file.

Back to Top

How to access the Content Collection?
    Log in to Blackboard with your usual username and password. There are two ways to access the Content Collection:

  1.  Select the Content Collection tab  that is visible in the top part of the screen.  You will then see the Content Collection area where you can access and add material to your own personal content folder - My Content.
  2. The Content Collection can also be accessed through the Control Panel in individual courses.

Back to Top

Can my students access the Content Collection?
If you place a link to an item stored in your Content Collection in your course, you will be giving students 'Read only' access to the item. Students do not have any allocated space within the Content Collection.

Back to Top

How do I use the Content Collection?
You can place files, folders and sub-folders in the 'My Content' folder, and then link to these items from a Blackboard course.

Back to Top

What can I put in my Content Collection?
You can put any file type in the 'My Content' folder, including the more commonly used types listed below. 

Word (.doc), Excel (.xls), PowerPoint (.ppt), Text (.txt), Rich Text (.rtf), Access (.mdb), HTML (.htm, .html), Image files (.gif, .jpg),  Zip files (.zip)

NOTE: Question Pools within courses can also be exported to, and imported from, the Content Collection via the 'Control Panel', 'Course Tools', 'Tests, Surveys and Pools' and then 'Pools'. However, a Pool cannot be modified in the Content Collection

Back to Top

How can I create Question Pools in my Content Collection?
Question Pools within courses can also be exported to, and imported from, the Content Collection via the 'Control Panel', 'Course Tools', 'Tests, Surveys and Pools' and then 'Pools'. However, a Pool cannot be modified in the Content Collection.   

Back to Top

What can't I put in my Content Collection?
You can't add course items such as assignments to the 'My Content' folder

Back to Top

How much material can I put in my Content Collection?
Each faculty has a quota of 100 megabytes within their 'My Content' folder. This is in addition to the quota allowed in each course (1 MB). Content Collection quotas operate independently of Course Quotas, so placing a link from a course to a Content Collection item will not affect the quota of the course.

Back to Top

How do I add a file to my Content Collection?
Faculty can upload either single files or entire folders from their local computer into the Content Collection. Click here to download the Quick Start Guide

Back to Top

How do I add Content Collection content to my Blackboard Courses?
To add a link to an item in your Content Collection, navigate to the area of your course where you want the link to appear and select 'Build Content'. Click here to download the Quick Start Guide

Note: It may be helpful to organize your course content into folders within your Content Collection.

Please note: Once you remove/delete a piece of content from Blackboard, we are not able to restore it. We recommend that you make your own regular backups of important work.

Back to Top

How to remove Content Collection items?
To remove an item from your Content Collection folder, select the check box to the left of the item and then select Delete. Removing a folder will remove all sub-folders and items within it.

Back to Top

How do I create a folder in my Content Collection?
 It is helpful to organize your course content into folders within your Content Collection. To create a folder, Content Collection Quick Start Guide

Back to Top

How do I update my syllabus?
If you would like to update a file that is currently posted in your course, you can open the file in the Content Collection to make changes and then overwrite the original file. When you overwrite a file that is posted in your course, students will be able to access the updated version. Click here to download the Quick Start Guide ( Add ) Use the same file for Overwrite File in Content Collection

Note: Overwriting files in the Content Collection is a good practice because it enables you to eliminate numerous versions of the same file within your Content Collection and efficiently update files that are already posted within your course.

Back to Top

Modified files appear not to change after upload
Modified files sometimes appear not to have changed and this normally happens if your PC has cached the original copy of your file.

For help on how to clear your cache, Click here.

Back to Top

What happens to Content Collection material when I copy a course?
When a course containing links to the Content Collection material is copied, permissions should automatically be updated to allow access to the material by all users enrolled in the new course.

Back to Top

What happens to my Content Collection material if I leave UDC?
A 'My Content' folder is created for a faculty when they first access the Content Collection. The folder is available as long as the user has a live UDC user account.

When a faculty leaves UDC, any content in their 'My Content' folder will be lost when their UDC user account is disabled.

Back to Top