Office of External Affairs

Main Office Contact

Executive Director of External Affairs
Michelle Pourciau

Media Inquiries
John Gordon, Jr., Director
Office of Communications
202.274.5998 (o) | 202.697.1310 (c)

Date of Publication: 

Award-winning UDC Delegation attends the 2012 Capital Area Regional Model Arab League

On Saturday November 10 and Sunday November 11, 2012 nine students from the University of the District of Columbia took part in the fall 2012 Model Arab League simulation which was held on the campus of Georgetown University.  The presiding officer of the Model Arab League was the Secretary General, Mario Bañegas, our own UDC student, who was chosen for that position in a competitive application process at last year's Model.  This year's UDC delegation, representing the government of Syria, distinguished itself with honors.  Our delegation received five awards for outstanding performance in debate and in character.  Ian Nix received an Outstanding Delegate Award, and Honorable Mention Awards were given to Leslie Benjamin, Quiana Ballard, Lily Najera, and Ria Thompson.  In the Model Arab League competitive application process to fill the Chairperson position for the five Councils for next year, our UDC Delegates were awarded three of those five positions.   Most importantly, our students learned and honed top notch debating and public speaking skills and learned a great deal about their country, Syria and the rest of the member countries of the Arab League.  Finally, the sponsoring organization for the Model, the National Council on US Arab Relations (NCUSAR) recognized the outstanding performance of our UDC students by inviting UDC to participate in the National Model Arab League in April 2013, an event in which universities participate by NCUSAR invitation only.  The UDC fall 2012 delegation included the following students:  Ria Thompson (Head Delegate), Quiana Ballard, Leslie Benjamin, Sundiate Daaka, Armando Gallardo, Nicholas Louis, Lily Najera, Ian Nix, and Paulo Sosa.  Dr. Guy Shroyer from the Department of Political Science, History and Global Studies acted as the delegation’s faculty advisor.